Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Division of Immunology

The Division of Immunology conducts basic and applied immunology studies of disease processes with a focus on infectious diseases such as AIDS, Lyme and Tuberculosis. 


The primary mission of the Division of Immunology is to continue to develop a strong independent research program and function as a resource to the general scientific community for nonhuman primate immunology expertise, technological development, and scientific collaboration. The division research program is a leader in providing and developing immunological technologies in the nonhuman primate model. 


The division's major research focus is to understand basic mechanisms of cellular and humoral immunity using several different non-human primate models of disease, including SIV, CMV and TB. The service mission is carried out primarily through three research cores (Flow Cytometry, Diagnostic Parasitology and Vector-Borne Disease and Immunology Assay) that provide comprehensive immunology services to Core and Affiliate Scientists that use the resources of the TNPRC. 


Stephen Braun, PhD
Monica Embers, PhD
Amitinder Kaur, MD
Jennifer Manuzak, PhD
Joseph Mudd, PhD
Geetha Parthasarathy, PhD
Monica Vaccari, PhD

The chair of the Division of Immunology is Amitinder Kaur, MD.

For general inquiries, please email TNPRC-Immun@tulane.edu.